Weird Word of the Week

Magpiethinker: (n) An artist who creatively borrows from other artists

Example sentence:

“Why yes, 80% of the name ‘Cashel Boyle O’Connor Fitzmaurice Drinkaqua’ is pinched directly from Ulysses; I’m a magpiethinker.”

I first encountered the word magpiethinker when my adviser at the University of Auckland used it to describe Vilém Fluesser. Or maybe it was Walter Benjamin. I don’t remember for certain because I was too busy madly scribbling the word into my notebook and, in true magpiefashion, scheming on how to steal the word for myself.

This entry was posted in Weird Word of the Week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

