Q & A with Chicago Literati

Scott Navicky, author of the brilliant new novel Humboldt, in conversation with Abby Sheaffer 

By Abby Sheaffer, Wednesday at 1:34 pm
Scott Navicky, author of the brilliant new novel Humboldt, in conversation with Abby Sheaffer

Before you read this interview, I have to ask you to do one very important thing: GO BUY HUMBOLDTScott Navicky’s debut novel out now through the CCLaP is unlike any you’ve ever read before and you’re doing your mind a great disservice by not reading it. If that announcement and my review of this extraordinary book doesn’t sell you, perhaps this uniquely refreshing interview with the author will. Interview after the jump.

(Image credit: CCLaP)

(Image credit: CCLaP)

Humboldt is such a unique novel, how did it come to you?

As a magpiethinker, my inspiration usually comes from the words and ideas of others. The initial spark for Humboldt occurred as I was thumbing through an old Arts & Humanities college textbook. In the chapter on the Enlightenment, I encountered the following quote from Voltaire: “I have never made but one prayer to God, a very short one: ‘O Lord, make my enemies ridiculous.’ And God granted it.” The more I thought about that quote, the more I liked it, and the more it made me want to read Candide, or Optimism. And it was while reading Candide that satori really struck.

For the rest of the interview, click on the image below:

This entry was posted in Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Q & A with Chicago Literati

  1. I have put your novel in my to-read list and hope to make time to read it soon. I think it sounds great!

  2. Pingback: Dream-maker | The D/A Dialogues

Leave a Reply

